Some provinces, 7 Metro Manila cities declare state of calamity

Several provinces and Metro Manila cities have declared their areas under a state of calamity due to the rise in the number of coronavirus cases in the country.

The areas under state of calamity are as follows: Cavite, Negros Oriental, the cities of Las Pinas, Muntinlupa, San Juan, Manila, Pasay, Makati, Quezon and Porac in Pampanga.

Makati has the highest number of cases in the National Capital Region with 16 cases based on a report from the Department of Health, but Makati Mayor Abby Binay said there were only 14 cases.

San Juan follows with 15 cases, while Manila and Pasay has eight and two, respectively.

Malls in Makati, San Juan, and Pasay will be closed starting Monday, Mar. 16, but essential establishments inside their premises such as grocery stores, pharmacies, banks, and convenience stores would be allowed to operate.